Push N' Shove

by Jason Edwards
October 6, 2000

File Under: Ska
rating: 4.3 out of 5

1. Push 'N Shove

2. Tek Dat

3. 'Lude 1

4. Prison Of Love

5. The Ronnie

6. Daydreamin'

7. Comin' On Strong

8. You And I

9. Beautiful

10. The Region

11. Gimmie Little Sign

12. 'Lude 2

13. The Spins

14. Live On

related links
  • Hepcat
  • An eagerly anticipated release from this California Neo trad ska band. I say that with great appreciation for what this band does. For one they play great music that they love to play. Plus they are one of the few bands that helped a lot of new ska fans and bands find out what ska REALLY was. This release with the absence of Alex Desert is no less amazing then there last "Right on Time". Alex does sing on two songs " Tek dat and You and I". But for the most part its Greg lee and Deston Berry also the keyboardist doing most of the singing. They do a mighty fine job of it also. Greg Lee has a voice that brings you back to the ska and reggae acts of old, and adds a touch of Old R & B and motown singing style to his own. Deston Berry's voice is a nice contrast to Lee's and they do very well together. The vocals have always been one of the major strengths of this group. But by no means does that mean that in any way any part of this band is lacking at all.

    The first track also the title track "Push and Shove" is a nice rocksteady sounding ditty that wants to make you move your feet and sing along. With a keys part in the middle that breaks it down very nice. The bass hops along and keeps you swaying. The 4th track is a nice new version of a old song "Prison of Love" with Karina from the dance hall crashers adding the vocals. "Day Dreaming" the 6th track is one of Hepcats great love songs, man can these guys throw down some nice lyrics. Track 7 is the other standout track titled" Comin on Strong", a nice upbeat song that gets your feet tapping and your head bobbing.

    Hepcat has a nice habit of releasing nice relaxing feel good music. Even when the lyrics arent so bright. It still brings a smile to your face. You can do nothing but appreciate what great musicans they all are. The horn section consisting of Kincaid Smith on trumpet, and Efren Santana on tenor sax keep a nice tight sound and provide some very stimulating solos if that's your thing. Scott Abels keeps the drumming calm collective and brings this whole operation together along with Dave Fuentes. The guitar playing is provided by a now full time member Aaron Owens. But this is a nice disc to add to the Hepcat collection. They seemed to slow down the overall feel of the album, and be real intent on just grooving to the sounds.

    Jason Edwards is Contributing Writer. Contact him at

    Copyright 1997-2000,, All resources are used with exclusive permission from their owners. Any form of reproduction other than for promotional and personal use is expressly prohibited without consent from the author and