Today's Empires, Tomorrow's Ashes

by Samuel Barker
January 23, 2001

File Under: Progressive Thrash
rating: A

1. Mate Ka Moris Ukun Rasik An

2. Fuck The Border 

3. Today's Empires, Tomorrow's Ashes

4. Back To The Motor League 

5. Natural Disasters 

6. With Friends Like These (Who The Fuck Needs Cointelpro)? 

7. Albright Monument, Baghdad 

8. Ordinary People Do Fucked Up Things When Fucked Up Things Become Ordinary 

9. Ladies Nite In Loserville

10. Ego Fum Papa [I Am The Pope]

11. New Homes For Idle Hands

12. Bullshit Politicians

13. March Of The Crabs

14. Purina Hall Of Fame 

related links
  • Fat Wreck Chords
  • Today's Empires, Tomorrow's Ashes, the eagerly awaited new release from Canadian political rockers Propagandhi, is a wonderful release. It's defintely true to the "progressive thrash" sound they have coined as their style. As always the music and the lyrics are a great way for them to propel their political ideals, but with the new technologies being developed with the "enhanced CDs" they were able to add a section where people could go to read rhetoic from various political figures and see videos about the band. It was a brilliant addition to the album. I strongly urge anyone who has the CD to give it a listen, but also put it into their CD ROM drive and take in the true effect of this multimedia masterpiece.

    The album opens with "Mate Ka Moris Ukun Rasik An" which begins with a nice down key sound and breaks into a full force hard rocker. As with all Propagadhi songs, the lyrics are strong and cut like a knife. This song is well set like a story. "Fuck The Border" is a straight ahead song about how big business exploits the one way travel across the border. The exerpt at the bottom of the lyric sheet explains how large corporations head over to Mexico to pay workers a ridiculously small wage while not allowing others to cross the border in search of decent jobs. The title track, "Today's Empire, Tomorrow's Ashes" brings us back to the old style sound of Propagandhi. This is a great song reminding us all great empires have fallen. "With Friends Like This Who Needs Cointelpro?" is a great commentary on people who betray friends in order to get themselves ahead. The music is tight and hard with some great riffs. "Albright Monument, Baghdad" is a great wake up call about the consequences of our "protection" of democracy. The guitar work on this track is great, but is overshadowed by the message of the lyrics which is a great thing in my opinion. "Ordinary People Do Fucked-up Things When Fucked-up Things Become Ordinary" is a pretty self explainatory song lyrically, and it's hard as fuck. A great sound to help convey the message. ""Bullshit Politicians" starts on a poppier edge, but quickly gives way to a hardcore/trash edge. The sound great and gets the blood flowing. It's also a good commentary on how despite having two political parties we are only faced with one true agenda. The final track, "Purina Hall Of Fame" begins with a sound bite about farmers trying to free an animal by beating it out of it's trap. The song is great. The guitar playing is great. The song is actually a good look at how more people die in prisons or from being killed than in palaces or other high quality living conditions.

    The album is strong from start to finish and does a wonderful job of relaying the band's message. The lyrics of this album are better than past ones because it gives the view, but doesn't push it down your throat. This made it more pleasant to hear, and makes you more willing to listen closely and agree with a lot of their views. This album will be released on February 6th from Fat Wreck Chords. This album is a definite must have for anyone with any interest in politics or good hard music. It's intellegent, the music is great, and the added CD ROM section makes it perfect. Enjoy!

    Samuel Barker is Senior Editor. Contact him at

    Copyright 1997-2001,, All resources are used with exclusive permission from their owners. Any form of reproduction other than for promotional and personal use is expressly prohibited without consent from the author and