Perfect Self

by Anna Maria Andriotis
September 6, 2001

File Under: Hard Rock/Metal
rating: B+

1. intro 

2. leave (back up) 

3. dont be afraid 

4. old man 

5. pain 

6. steppin away 

7. how we stand 

8. down from here 

9. sunlight 

10. lost your faith 

11. get me out 

12. what 

13. closer now 

14. perfect self

related links
  • Staind
  • It's safe to say that modern rock has, for quite some time now, had a vacancy of quality songwriting and talented musicians. Individuals claiming to be songwriters have little or nothing at all to say. Rock music, at one time a haven from the artificiality of mass marketed pop music, has been thrown into a melting pot with all other musical genres leaving of fans feeling abandoned.

    The now twisted definition of rock has turned away hundreds of disappointed fans. But, who said the norm of all present rock music lies in empty lyrics, unoriginal riffs and a lack of melodies?

    Meet Stereomud, originally named Amazing Disgrace, five true songwriters and musicians in the purest form. Loud Records' first rock act, Stereomud provide a fiery dosage of modern metal that hasn't sounded this authentic and pissed off in a very long time.

    Their major label-debut, Perfect Self is full of memorable riffs, genuine deep vocals and straight up rock. As the band rips through each track on their album, one can't help but notice a striking resemblance to the likes of Sevendust and Life of Agony.

    What makes Perfect Self separate from most other current band debuts is the fine balance each song provides between melody and aggression. This band is clearly going against the plethora of rap/metal, and their debut boldly shows them as innovators, not imitators.

    Frontman, Erik's heavy yet polished vocals contrast perfectly with his melodic croons that are sure to grab listeners' attention. The band's ensured well-rounded vocal attacks play off the guitars vicious riffs that are full of intensity. Bass playing creates the clear tight rhythm and proves to be extremely substantial to the band's sound.

    Perfect Self is undeniably a project reflecting off a group effort. Bassist Corey Lowery is a significant influence on Stereomud's lyrics, and the band as a whole come from a rich composing past. Admittedly, the band has a lot of past musical influences, with bassist Corey Lowery of Stuck Mojo and the brother of Clint Lowery of Sevendust. Guitarist Joey Z and drummer Dan Richardson continue to have a place in the hearts of the fans in the metal/hardcore scene, having been members of the memorable New York band Life of Agony.

    Even with all these connections, Stereomud have enough personality and originality to stand out in the mass. The songs' lyrics hit close to home and the fluctuating dynamics accent the album's duration.

    However, as a whole the group doesn't offer much in terms of drastic variation causing the overall song continuity to possess a weighing dullness that overshadows many of the guitar's compelling moments. Most evident, after a few spins of the album, is the apparent lack of experimentation in the bass playing that seems primarily focused on following the guitars and drums.

    But don't be mistaken, by the sounds of their debut album it seems Stereomud may stay around for quite a while. Without a doubt, this band definitely possesses the potential to go places. With a solid rock album debut, Stereomud seem to have only gotten started on their promising journey. Throughout "Perfect Self", they build up a sense of intrigue, of both charm and infection, that carries on until the closing song. A band like this will only progress with each successive album. Perhaps they will take their beautifully vicious sound and expand on their eventual sophomore album.

    Anna Maria Andriotis is contributing writer. Contact her at

    Copyright 1997-2001,, All resources are used with exclusive permission from their owners. Any form of reproduction other than for promotional and personal use is expressly prohibited without consent from the author and