The Supersuckers
The Evil Powers Of Rock n' Roll

by Samuel Barker
July 20, 2001

File Under: Punk
rating: B

1. The Evil Powers of Rock 'n' Roll

2. Cool Manchu

3. I Want The Drugs

4. Santa Rita High

5. Dead Meat

6. Stuff 'n' Nonsense

7. Dirt Roads, Dead Ends, And Dust

8. Fisticuffs

9. Gone Gamblin'

10. My Kickass Life

11. Goin' Back To Tucson

12. I Can't Hold Myself In Line

13. Hot Like The Sun

related links
  • Supersuckers
  • The title of this album says it all. This record is completely evil, headbanging, hard rock music. I fell in love with this band after seeing them live, and this album has just as much fire.

    Fueled by wicked guitar riffs, overdriven rhythms, and some of the scratchiest vocals man will ever hear, The Evil Powers Of Rock n' Roll is a classic example of power rock. After releasing the country-laden album, Must've Been High, people thought The Supersuckers were on their way to a new style of music and an escape from their signature rock....Well, all those people are way wrong, and I'd say it's safe to say they're happy about it. This band is talented in so many ways, they can play multiple types of music, they perform with pure energy that is unsurpassed, and they never once for a moment come off as anything other than a great band. If you're looking for a complete aural assault, pick this album up, make a metal fist, and get ready to go wild.

    The album opens with the title track, "The Evil Powers of Rock n' Roll." This gets to party rolling. This is a definite drunken party album. The rock is hard, the roll is tight, and everyone will be able to enjoy themselves with it.

    There are a lot of quality tracks on this album that keep you rocking out, but there are few that give you a break to catch your breath. These as well are quality songs. "Dirt Roads, Dead Ends, And Dust" comes with a more relaxed feel, but relaxed for The Supersuckers isn't exactly relaxed for most people.

    This album is available from most anyplace you look, and I must say, it's something worth picking up. I loved this album through it's entirety. It is a quality release with no real downside. Pick it up.

    Samuel Barker is Senior Editor. Contact him at

    Copyright 1997-2001,, All resources are used with exclusive permission from their owners. Any form of reproduction other than for promotional and personal use is expressly prohibited without consent from the author and