Songs From The Divided House

by Samuel Barker
July 7, 2001

File Under: 60's Rock/Historical
rating: A+

Disc 1

1. Wooly Bully - Sam The Sham & The Pharaohs 

2. Good Vibrations - The Beach Boys 

3. Black Is Black - Los Bravos 

4. Brown Eyed Girl - Van Morrsion 

5. White Rabbit - Jefferson Airplane 

6. A Whiter Shade Of Pale - Procol Harum 

7. Time Of The Season - The Zombies 

8. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down - The Band 

9. With A Little Help From My Friends - Joe Cocker 

10. Going Up The Country - Canned Heat 

11. Closer To Home - Grand Funk Railroad 

12. Green-Eyed Lady - Sugarloaf 

13. American Woman - The Guess Who 

14. American Pie - Don McLean 

Disc 2 

1. President Lyndon B. Johnson 8/4/64 Broadcast: 

   Tonkin Gulf, Vietnam Incident, and Resolution

2. War - Edwin Star

3. Fish Cheer/I Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag - Country Joe And The Fish

4. Universal Soldier - Donovan

5. Lydon Johnson Told A Nation - Tom Paxton

6. President Lyndon B. Johnson 8/4/64 Broadcast: Escalation Of Vietnam

7. The Ballad Of The Green Beret - SSgt. Barry Sadler

8. Where Have All The Flowers Gone - Kingston Trio

9. Incense And Peppermint - Strawberry Alarm Clock

10. Richard M. Nixon 1/20/69 Broadcast: Persident Inaugural Speech 

11. Eve Of Destruction - Barry McGuire

12. Sky Pilot - Eric Burdon & The Animals

13. I Ain't Marching Anymore - Phil Ochs 

14. President Richard M. Nixon 11/3/69 Broadcast: Vietnam Policy Speech 

15. California Dreamin' - The Mamas & The Papas

16. Vietman - Jimmy Cliff

17. President Richard M. Nixon 1/23/73 Broadcast: End Of The Vietnam War

18. What A Wonderful World - Louis Armstrong

19. What's Going On - Marvin Gaye 

related links
  • Q Records
  • Everything you need to know about the Vietnam era all packaged in a 5x5 inch square, that is what you will have in your hands when you purchase this CD.

    This set is sponsored by the History Channel, so you know it's going to be good. It's a 2 disc set with all sorts of great songs and snipets of speeches given by our Vietnam War-era Presidents. It's interesting look back at such a volatle time in US history.

    The first disc contains songs popular during the Vietnam War. It contains some of the best classics every played. You can feel the sense of brotherhood and caring that existed in the nation through the songs. People were banding together to stop something they thought was wrong and you can feel this in the songs.

    The second disc is my favorite. It contains songs written about the Vietnam War while it was happening and it contains clips of speeches given by Richard Nixon and Lyndon Johnson. It's a history lesson with no pain whatsoever. The songs on this album show the despiration felt by the soldiers and those who had family in the war. You can also hear how the nation rejoiced when the war was over through the Louis Armstrong and Marvin Gaye songs. This album did a splendid job of illustrating the way peoples emotional states changed througout the war by putting the songs in order by events in the war.

    I don't know if I can tell you in words how brilliant this set is. It's something you really must own. If you're in school, buy it. If you have kids, buy it. If you want to know more about this nation and how music reflects society, buy this album. It really does follow the Billy Joe Shaver quote, "Records are worth more than you pay for them."

    Samuel Barker is Senior Editor. Contact him at

    Copyright 1997-2001,, All resources are used with exclusive permission from their owners. Any form of reproduction other than for promotional and personal use is expressly prohibited without consent from the author and